The Ngāti Hāua Iwi Trust was established in 2001 following early discussions in 1990 amongst Ngāti Hāua about the need to co-ordinate and manage iwi affairs and progress the settlement of Ngāti Hāua Treaty grievances. Particularly, in relation to Ngāti Hāua land and Tongariro National Park maunga matters Key Ngāti Hāua kaumātua and Wai claimants, with the endorsement of Ngāti Hāua and the Whanganui River Māori Trust Board, were instrumental in the establishment of the Ngāti Hāua Iwi Trust.

  • Eugene Topine Chair
  • Teresa Hall
  • Lois Tutemahurangi
  • James Anderson
  • Rumatiki Linda Henry
  • William Huch


Governance members of the Ngāti Hāua Iwi Trust Board are elected from and by Ngāti Hāua Iwi members aged 18 years and over. Each member is appointed for a term of three years.
The Ngāti Hāua Iwi Trust is currently represented by a board of six.